Relax, this is not going to be a lengthy scientific discourse.

There’s plenty of ways to prove your lineage. Phenotypical evidence, which basically means you look like the people who brought you here; genetic evidence, which shows by means of matching of DNA that your parents share genetic code with you and are therefore very likely to be your parents.

Then there’s behavioural evidence. Barely scientific proof as it may seem, people who are raised in a certain way tend to behave in a certain way.

I have just proved that I’m my father’s son. With his help holding a small LED torch, I have just removed the first of three sutures on the inside of the right side of my upper jaw. With a rather small scissors that I dunked in antiseptic mouthwash as a means of disinfection.

Proof that bloodymindedness, lack of general squeamishness and ?masochism runs in the family? Potentially. After all, I did sorta do my own wedge excisions of my toenails when they were ingrowing too [albeit with a bit of whisky for courage and analgesia], and my dad did similar stuff like cut part of his fingernail off to remove splinters, amongst other things…

Then again, my mom freaks out at stuff like this all the time, and probably thinks we’re freaks.

Guess I follow my dad’s side more then?… Would that be genetic, phenotypic, or just me picking up character traits from following my dad?

/shrugs. Damned if I know…

And isn’t it ironic that I can do this shiate, and am STILL terrified of the dentist?…

Leave is over today, and it’s back to the grind tomorrow. Making me feel tired just thinking about it…

Felt relatively well spent though… Didn’t go anywhere, but I spent a lotta time with her, which makes me feel… a lot happier and more well rested than rushing off overseas on holiday. And I still have another… potential 12 days of leave left to take this posting, hurhurhur.

Now I’m just wondering if I can convince her to go someplace with me for a bit. Would be interesting to see if we’d kill each other while we were at it. Could be fun too, if we don’t become too homicidal.

… well, that and… when and where. Something to discuss with her at some point, if she doesn’t already have plans…

