Christmas. The Winter Solstice. Yule. Midwinter. Many names for the same holiday, though the first is the most well-known. It’s a remarkably well-celebrated holiday around the world as well, to say the least…

And in addition to having parties and stuff at this time… there are people who decide to hold their weddings on this holiday too…

It was bound to happen, I guess. It’s a happy occasion, after all, so it’d be like the whole world was celebrating with them… and it’d make things easier on the husband…

To be honest though, I’ve known the girl a few years now. She’s a nice girl, she is, and rather obsessed about having a proper fairytale wedding. She turned down the boy once ’cause his proposal was unacceptably mundane [harsh…], and had grand plans for how her day would be.

For her sake [and his too… she’d never let him live it down otherwise…], I hope things worked out the way she wanted.

I left early though. I had promised a friend I’d be at his party [almost a yearly ritual for the last five years or so], and I was honestly getting a little irritated at the wedding. Not that I wasn’t happy for them, no… but…

It was another cut-and-paste wedding?… powerpoint presentation showing them and how they met… four courses. video showing the ragging session and how he finally managed to survive the ordeals to get to her. photo taking. four more courses. Only interesting things about it were that the second march-in involved him pedalling her to the stage in a trishaw… and the music looping in the background was theme songs from every single Disney Princess movie ever made.

Damn near lost it when ‘True Love’s Kiss’ from Enchanted started playing.

I’m probably rather jaded, I guess… I don’t begrudge her her idea of a perfect wedding, no… but while a small part of me IS going ‘awwwwwww’ [I texted her. she kinda scolded me for bitching about it, which made me smile a lot more than actually being stuck at the wedding with Disney themes taunting me…], there’s a larger part of me headbutting a wall while asking me if this is for real…

Then again, I find it hard to believe in fairytales nowadays. It might have been easier to if life had been a little kinder and everything fell into my lap from the start, without me having to work too hard for it.

Nowadays, I’m far more inclined to love what I have, appreciate what I’ve worked for, and… not couch it all in something that makes it seem as if my life is all roses and I got everything via divine handout. Seems to cheapen whatever I’ve achieved and whatever I’ve managed to get if I do that… Don’t get me wrong, I still appreciate fairytales and their happy endings, but… only as stories.

And I’m far more inclined to write my own life’s story without making it seem quite so trite.

